About Us

Board of Directors

Strong, steady leadership

The role of our Board of Directors has evolved alongside our business, providing oversight to an organization with a growing global footprint and a diverse, yet complementary suite of premier products and services. The Board strives to ensure that its corporate governance practices provide for the effective stewardship of the company, and it regularly evaluates those practices to ensure they are keeping with the highest standards.

  • Simon Byrne, General Counsel, ATCO Australia & Company Secretary
    Simon Byrne

    Simon Byrne

    General Counsel, ATCO Australia & Company Secretary


    Mr Byrne joined ATCO in October 2010 as Senior Legal Counsel and Company Secretary at ATCO Gas Australia.  In late 2013 he was appointed to the role of General Manager, Corporate Services & Legal at ATCO Australia, and later General Counsel, retaining his Company Secretary duties across the ATCO Australia companies.  After returning from the United Kingdom where he spent 14 years, including senior positions as Head of Legal and Company Secretary with Thames Water, the largest regulated water and waste utility in the UK serving over 14 million customers in London and the Thames Valley, Simon worked in private practice with a national law firm in Perth. Mr Byrne is a qualified lawyer and holds Bachelor of Jurisprudence and Bachelor of Law degrees from the University of Western Australia.

  • Patrick Creaghan, Country Chair, ATCO Australia
    Pat Creaghan

    Patrick Creaghan

    Country Chair, ATCO Australia
    Director, ATCO Australia & ATCO Gas Australia GP


    Mr Creaghan joined ATCO in 2011 and was appointed President, Pipelines & Liquids in 2013. He then served as Senior Vice President, Corporate Development, before being appointed Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer of ATCO Australia in June 2017. Mr Creaghan has more than 25 years’ experience in a variety of operational and leadership roles and prior to joining ATCO held executive positions with Shell Canada and Royal Dutch Shell Group. He has served as a Director of the Canadian Energy Research Institute, Chair of the Canadian Petroleum Producers Institute (CPPI) Ontario division and as Director and Vice Chair of the Technical Safety and Standards Authority (TSSA).​

  • John Ivulich, Chief Financial Officer
    John Ivulich

    John Ivulich 

    Chief Financial Officer,

    Director, ATCO Australia & ATCO Gas Australia GP


    Mr Ivulich joined ATCO Australia in 2011 as Director of Finance. In August 2014 he was appointed Chief Financial Officer and Public Officer assuming responsibility for the strategic financial planning for ATCO Australia and also oversees the Corporate Finance and Investment evaluation areas, accounting, tax, business planning, forecasting and treasury functions. Prior to joining ATCO, Mr Ivulich was an auditor at a top tier accounting firm providing audit and financial advisory services to large corporations and worked in the financial services and property industries in senior Finance roles in the UK and Australia. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand as well as holding qualifications with the Institute of Company Directors in Australia and the Financial Services Institute of Australia.​

  • Laura A. Reed, Non-executive Director
    Lara A. Reed

    Laura A. Reed

    Non-executive Director


    Ms Reed was the Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure from 2008 until May 2012. Before joining Spark Infrastructure, Ms Reed spent nine years at the ASX listed gas distribution business Envestra Limited in a number of senior financial roles including Chief Financial Officer.  Ms Reed holds an MBA from Deakin University and a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and is a fellow of CPA Australia. Ms Reed is a director and member of the Audit committee of three electricity distribution businesses in NSW; Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy and Essential Energy and is also on the Board of Canadian Utilities Limited.

  • Robert J. Routs, Non-executive Director
    Robert J. Routs PhD
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Royal DSM N.V.

    Robert J. Routs PhD

    Non-Executive Director


    From 2004 until his retirement in 2008 Dr. Routs was an Executive Board Member at Royal Dutch Shell plc. He was responsible for the global refining, chemical, marketing, trading and renewables businesses. Before that he held various senior management positions at Royal Dutch Shell in the U.S., Canada and The Netherlands. Dr. Routs is Chairman of the Supervisory Boards of AEGON N.V. and Royal DSM N.V. and is also a director of ATCO Ltd. and ATCO Structures & Logistics Ltd.

  • Roger J. Urwin, Chair & Non-executive Director
    Roger Urwin

    Roger J. Urwin, CBE

    Chair & Non-executive Director


    Dr Urwin has worked in gas, electric and telecom utilities throughout his career. He retired at the end of 2006 as Group Chief Executive of National Grid plc, one of the world’s largest international gas and electric utilities. He played a key role in establishing the company’s international strategy and its successful expansion into the U.S., creating one of the largest investor-owned utility companies in the world. He was Managing Director and Chief Executive of London Electricity from 1990 to 1995. He is also non-executive Chairman of Utilico Investments Limited and a special advisor to Global Infrastructure Partners, an international infrastructure investment fund. Dr Urwin has a Physics degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Southampton, UK and is a Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

  • Charles W. Wilson, Non-executive Director
    Charles Wilson

    Charles W. Wilson 

    Non-executive Director


    Mr. Wilson is Lead Director for the Boards of ATCO Ltd. and ATCO Structures & Logistics Ltd. Mr. Wilson is a former President and Chief Executive Officer of Shell Canada and is also a Director of AKITA Drilling Ltd. and Canadian Utilities Limited. Mr. Wilson graduated from the University of New Mexico with his M.Sc. in Engineering and held several senior executive positions in refining and marketing, chemical, oil & gas production and corporate planning during his career at Shell.